Page 1 of 1

Executing game by just running love.

Posted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:48 pm
by rnodal
Hello,

I'm new to Love and I'm trying to figure out how to get my game to run after I double click the love executable.
Is there any trick to do that? Do I have to recompile Love?

Thank you

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:20 am
by Gnx
Read this http://love2d.org/wiki/Game_Distribution
Specifically under heading "Making an executable file out of a .love-file".

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 7:35 am
by Robin
Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe. :)

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:13 pm
by zac352
Robin wrote:Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe. :)
So many .bats.... >_<

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:16 pm
by nevon
zac352 wrote:
Robin wrote:Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe. :)
So many .bats.... >_<
Silly Windows users. :crazy: What's wrong with the following?

Code: Select all

nevon@nevon-desktop:~/workspace/vbrawl$ love .

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:43 pm
by Robin
Exactly. Well, the prompt's not the nicest one I could think off…

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:44 pm
by kikito
@nevon: Silliness ~= ignorance

@zac352 & @rnodal:

consider adding the love.exe folder to your windows PATH so you can invoke it from any directory on the console.

Then you can open up a console and just do:

Code: Select all

cd your\game\dir
love .
(Notice the dot at the end)

If you make changes, just press 'up' on the console (the love . will appear again) and enter. That is the fastest way to change-and-test on windows.

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 11:06 pm
by Simtex
kikito wrote:That is the fastest way to change-and-test on windows.
Another good Windows way:

In Windows Explorer (or really anywhere, even the desktop) go to any directory you want to execute Love from, right click on the background, then click New->Shortcut. It will ask what you want to create a shortcut for, point it to love.exe, name the shortcut whatever you want then click ok. Now right click on the newly created shortcut and go to Properties.

There should be a box there labeled Target with something like this in it:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\LOVE\love.exe"

Add your project path to the end of that line, enclosing it in a new pair of double quotes so that it looks like so:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\LOVE\love.exe" "C:\development\myloveproject"

Click Ok...you can now run your project just by double clicking that shortcut. If you want to create more Love project shortcuts, you can just copy and paste the first one you made, then just change the Target box to the new project path.

Re: Executing game by just running love.[SOLVED]

Posted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:56 am
by rnodal
Thank you all for taking the time to answer.
I'm a linux user but I was developing the game under Windows over the weekend and I was a little bit lost.
I read the Wiki link (before I posted the question) but what I was looking for was the solution pointed by Simtex.
I don't think my wording was the best.

Once again,
Thank you all.

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Posted: Tue Oct 12, 2010 10:03 am
by zac352
nevon wrote:
zac352 wrote:
Robin wrote:Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe. :)
So many .bats.... >_<
Silly Windows users. :crazy: What's wrong with the following?

Code: Select all

nevon@nevon-desktop:~/workspace/vbrawl$ love .
I hate using windows, but my computer doesn't have internet. I blame virgin mobile for making their hotspot unable to hook up to a router...