Executing game by just running love.

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Post Reply
rnodal
Prole
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:26 pm

Executing game by just running love.

Post by rnodal »

Hello,

I'm new to Love and I'm trying to figure out how to get my game to run after I double click the love executable.
Is there any trick to do that? Do I have to recompile Love?

Thank you
Gnx
Prole
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 6:38 am

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Post by Gnx »

Read this http://love2d.org/wiki/Game_Distribution
Specifically under heading "Making an executable file out of a .love-file".
User avatar
Robin
The Omniscient
Posts: 6506
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Post by Robin »

Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe. :)
Help us help you: attach a .love.
User avatar
zac352
Party member
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:13 pm
Location: In your head.
Contact:

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Post by zac352 »

Robin wrote:Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe. :)
So many .bats.... >_<
Hello, I am not dead.
User avatar
nevon
Commander of the Circuloids
Posts: 938
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Post by nevon »

zac352 wrote:
Robin wrote:Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe. :)
So many .bats.... >_<
Silly Windows users. :crazy: What's wrong with the following?

Code: Select all

nevon@nevon-desktop:~/workspace/vbrawl$ love .
User avatar
Robin
The Omniscient
Posts: 6506
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Post by Robin »

Exactly. Well, the prompt's not the nicest one I could think off…
Help us help you: attach a .love.
User avatar
kikito
Inner party member
Posts: 3153
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:22 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Post by kikito »

@nevon: Silliness ~= ignorance

@zac352 & @rnodal:

consider adding the love.exe folder to your windows PATH so you can invoke it from any directory on the console.

Then you can open up a console and just do:

Code: Select all

cd your\game\dir
love .
(Notice the dot at the end)

If you make changes, just press 'up' on the console (the love . will appear again) and enter. That is the fastest way to change-and-test on windows.
When I write def I mean function.
User avatar
Simtex
Prole
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 5:31 am

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Post by Simtex »

kikito wrote:That is the fastest way to change-and-test on windows.
Another good Windows way:

In Windows Explorer (or really anywhere, even the desktop) go to any directory you want to execute Love from, right click on the background, then click New->Shortcut. It will ask what you want to create a shortcut for, point it to love.exe, name the shortcut whatever you want then click ok. Now right click on the newly created shortcut and go to Properties.

There should be a box there labeled Target with something like this in it:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\LOVE\love.exe"

Add your project path to the end of that line, enclosing it in a new pair of double quotes so that it looks like so:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\LOVE\love.exe" "C:\development\myloveproject"

Click Ok...you can now run your project just by double clicking that shortcut. If you want to create more Love project shortcuts, you can just copy and paste the first one you made, then just change the Target box to the new project path.
rnodal
Prole
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 11:26 pm

Re: Executing game by just running love.[SOLVED]

Post by rnodal »

Thank you all for taking the time to answer.
I'm a linux user but I was developing the game under Windows over the weekend and I was a little bit lost.
I read the Wiki link (before I posted the question) but what I was looking for was the solution pointed by Simtex.
I don't think my wording was the best.

Once again,
Thank you all.
User avatar
zac352
Party member
Posts: 496
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:13 pm
Location: In your head.
Contact:

Re: Executing game by just running love.

Post by zac352 »

nevon wrote:
zac352 wrote:
Robin wrote:Also, while developing, you can just drag the folder which contains your main.lua onto the love.exe. :)
So many .bats.... >_<
Silly Windows users. :crazy: What's wrong with the following?

Code: Select all

nevon@nevon-desktop:~/workspace/vbrawl$ love .
I hate using windows, but my computer doesn't have internet. I blame virgin mobile for making their hotspot unable to hook up to a router...
Hello, I am not dead.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests