Trying to figure out collision with tiles in platformer game

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
waffleturtle
Prole

Trying to figure out collision with tiles in platformer game

Post by waffleturtle »

Hello! I am new to Love2d and trying to make my first little platformer game.

I am trying to keep it somewhat simple so I am avoiding advanced 3rd party libraries and such for now to get a better basic understanding of concepts and such.

I figured I start with a 2d platformer and it is going well thus far. I have a player running and jumping around using x, y positions with velocities for both axises as well. Currently I have randomly generated tiles that I store in a table and draw onto the game canvas.

Now I am curious how I can get my player to collide with the tiles and stop moving. Most of what I can find seem to use physics libraries for this which I am trying to avoid for now.

I did find some things, like AABB collision detection. Though I am not certain what to do once I have detected a collision as I cannot seem to figure out how to push the player in the correct direction after intersecting a tile.

Does anyone have any good ideas/tips for me here?
BrotSagtMist
Party member

Re: Trying to figure out collision with tiles in platformer game

Post by BrotSagtMist »

If you simply use tiles that is super easy:
if tiles[math.floor(x/tilesize)][math.floor(y/tilesize)] then print("collision")

Problematic is you either need to init all possible x positions in _tiles_ or put a meta table in it so you wont get a nil access error at the map edges.

Also the method for moving on tiles is to create a temporary position by applying the physic, then check for collisions and only apply it to the real position if it is not colliding so you dont get stuck in walls.
obey
waffleturtle
Prole

Post by waffleturtle »