Using love while learning c++

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
baconhawka7x
Party member

Using love while learning c++

Post by baconhawka7x »

I want to start learning c++ after my current project.
I've only ever used high-level dynamic programming languages - And am entirely self-taught (save for a lot of awesome people on this forum helping me!) so please excuse how stupid some of my post might sound :|

I was wondering if it's possible/normal/even makes sense to use something like love while learning or to develop games with c++.

From what I understand, using c++ you have to be very aware of what platform you are developing for - And in my head, I'm picturing that I could use love as something that has already solved that problem, and already does all of the basics that I'd want (creating a window, drawing images, etc).

I would think there is some sort of interface that love provides that would basically take care of all the various ways of doing things for each platform behind a simple call. But my best guess is that I am just way off and have no idea what I'm talking about!

To begin my c++ journey I obviously would not be attempting to do this. But once I've understood some of the foundations I would like to be able to eventually create some simple interactive stuff, and thought maybe this was a way of doing so that is also familiar to me.
vilonis
Prole

Re: Using love while learning c++

Post by vilonis »

I don’t know that love is packaged in a way to make that easy, but presumably you could download the source use the C++ directly instead of going through the Lia interface.

But you might be better off using a different cross platform library, like SDL2.
Azzla
Prole

Post by Azzla »