Understanding the basics of require and threads

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
randomnovice
Party member

Understanding the basics of require and threads

Post by randomnovice »

Hi folks,

Complete coding novice here and I think I'm missing something basic about the way that either require or threads work.

I'm trying to make use of Zorg's excellent "advanced sound library" (asl) found here.

I've checked that the asl.lua and asl-thread.lua are both run correctly by inserting a basic print("Did this") command in each and yes, they run.

But when I try to call the function Source:setTimeStretch(2.0) I get the following error:

Code: Select all

Error: main.lua:201: attempt to call method 'setTimeStretch' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
	[love "boot.lua"]:345: in function 'setTimeStretch'
	main.lua:201: in function <main.lua:181>
	main.lua:152: in function 'update'
	main.lua:39: in function <main.lua:12>
	[C]: in function 'xpcall'
	[love "boot.lua"]:361: in function <[love "boot.lua"]:348>
	[C]: in function 'xpcall'
The way I have tried to call it is in these few lines:

tSPEECH[gSPEECH_PLAYING] = love.audio.newSource("cache/line"..gSPEECH_PLAYING..".mp3", "static")
tSPEECH[gSPEECH_PLAYING]:setTimeStretch(2.0)
tSPEECH[gSPEECH_PLAYING]:play()
I've attached the file but it's likely to be on a very basic level that I've got something wrong as I have no idea what I'm doing, so anyone who is feeling helpful it might be easier to suggest one of the possible common ways I might have made a mistake rather than sifting through heaps of code.
Attachments
DnD Text Adventure.love
(47.07 MiB) Downloaded 57 times
zorg
Party member

Re: Understanding the basics of require and threads

Post by zorg »

Hi.