Canvases and Text

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Rubix
Prole

Canvases and Text

Post by Rubix »

Hey everybody, I'm new to LÖVE and I can't seem to find the answer to this on the forums.

I've been trying to figure out how to do split screen, and my current solution is to draw everything to two separate canvases and then draw those to the screen using setScissor() to crop them.

My only issue is that when I draw text to a canvas it looks different than if I just draw it to the screen.
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (2.58 KiB) Viewed 5118 times
You can see in the image above the text on top is drawn directly to the screen, and the text below is drawn to a canvas that is rendered to the screen.

Any idea on what's causing this or how to fix it? Should I be attempting split screen in a different way entirely?

You can see the project for yourself here:
CanvasText.love
(410.14 KiB) Downloaded 161 times
Thanks!

Edit: I should have been more specific about what is wrong with the text. The offset position is fine, that's just because I drew it while the camera was active. What I'm more concerned about is how the text looks like it's been scaled or compressed. The text on bottom is thinner and looks worse.
Last edited by Rubix on Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Beelz
Party member

Re: Canvases and Text

Post by Beelz »

I haven't looked at the code, but the text is moving because I assume you drew it within a push-pop. To draw a GUI, HUD, or mini-map you wan't to draw them after popping back. If that works the same with scissors I'm not sure, never used it. With them looking different is probably has to do with scaling the canvas. Maybe somebody wiser than I knows.

I'll check it out later after work.

Code: Select all

if self:hasBeer() then self:drink()
else self:getBeer() end
GitHub -- Website
zorg
Party member

Post by zorg »