Calls table value as function. Can't seem to figure it out.

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
JJSax
Prole

Calls table value as function. Can't seem to figure it out.

Post by JJSax »

[spoiler] My first post, trying to figure out how to do spoilers for the future.
anyone know how?
please ignore this. [/spoiler]

I have a super basic shooter game. I've just been loosely following a tutorial I found on Youtube to learn Love so most this code isn't mine.
also if you have to look through the code, I believe that there is no need for anything in the image folder, but in case I just forgot about one, they're in there.

When trying to move the bullet (below) it says it's thinking v is a function value. It's probably really simple but I'm still a noob ;)

Code: Select all

function bullet.move(dt)
	for i,v in pairs(bullet) do
		if v.dir == "up" then -- errors here
			v.y = v.y - bullet.speed * dt
		end
		if v.dir == "down" then
			v.y = v.y + bullet.speed * dt
		end
		if v.dir == "left" then
			v.x = v.x - bullet.speed * dt
		end
		if v.dir == "right" then
			v.x = v.x + bullet.speed * dt
		end
	end
end
thanks in advance! :)
my first shooter.love
(913.77 KiB) Downloaded 69 times
Germanunkol
Party member

Re: Calls table value as function. Can't seem to figure it

Post by Germanunkol »

Hi!

Welcome to the forums!

The line:

Code: Select all

for i,v in pairs(bullet) do 
does the following:
It iterates over ALL values in the bullet table (the table you create in line two of bullet.lua).