Lua/Love IO Problem

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
MV
Prole

Lua/Love IO Problem

Post by MV »

Very simple problem,

Code: Select all

local f = assert(io.open("Test.txt", "r"))
print(f:read("*all"))
f:close()

f = assert(io.open("Test.txt", "w"))
f:write("New Stuff")
f:close()
My project includes some rudimentary unlockables and highscores that I want to save in a text file, and modify whenever I please.
I can read information from a text file easily, but when I overwrite the same file it does something weird.

The file in the working directory stays the same, unchanged, but the program is now reading the data of which I saved previously. I tried this using both the Love filesystem and Lua's but both have the same problem.

How do I make it modify the text file in the directory directly?

Sorry, but I'm new to both Lua and Love and I couldn't find a similar problem anywhere.
tentus
Inner party member

Re: Lua/Love IO Problem

Post by tentus »

This is a slight variation of what I use in my game to save settings, player scores, etc. prepSaveData() does exactly what it sounds like: prepare data to be saved. This code assumes that what you are writing can utterly replace what currently exists.

function saveStuff()
	local saveData = prepSaveData()
	file = love.filesystem.newFile("save.txt")
	file:open('w')
	file:write(saveData)
	file:close()
end
Last edited by tentus on Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kurosuke needs beta testers
Robin
The Omniscient

Post by Robin »

1. Use love.filesystem. Period. That io stuff is still in LÖVE, but please don't use it. In fact, in SELÖVE it would be an error.