New to LUA

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
never
Prole

New to LUA

Post by never »

Hi, My name is Ryne. I'm interested in learning LUA and creating a project using the Love Engine, and I was wondering where I should start or if anyone had any useful links to tutorials.

I also had a few questions. I have always had an idea to create an Isometric RTS game similar to the "Proto-RTS" project by Geti (http://love2d.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1161). If I could create something like that it would be incredible. I'm new to LUA and programming in general so I'm probably getting ahead of myself, but I was wondering where I should start in terms of driving towards a project like that, with a similar Isometric style. I also find it confusing when I think about using Love. The way I see it is that "LUA" is a programming language all on its own, and Love is just an engine that uses LUA as its base programming language, but from the tutorials ive read and the tests that I've done it seems that you don't code for Love, as you would just a regular LUA application. Things are different. So I'm wondering if I should learn LUA first, instead of learning both LUA and LOVE at the same time to avoid confusion. Unless I'm thinking of it all wrong and someone would like to clarify?
Thursdaybloom
Citizen

Re: New to LUA

Post by Thursdaybloom »

Welcome to the forums Ryne/never. I'm also new to Lua and Love with no previous coding experience. I don't believe there is a 'wrong' way to learn, so if you think learning more Lua would help when using Love then go for it. Do what is is that makes it easier for you. Personally I prefer jumping straight into Love and actually using it to assist me in learning Lua. I find it much more rewarding and motivating to have visible success. So if you're the same then start using Love straight away. It's up to you.