Hi, I'm Zachary!

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
zachwlewis
Citizen

Hi, I'm Zachary!

Post by zachwlewis »

After lurking the forums for a few days and creating a game as my first ever program with Lua and Love, I decided to introduce myself properly (i.e., not a series of misshapen sentences written at butt o'clock).

My name is Zachary, and during the day, I'm a professional game developer. I work mainly with Adobe Flash doing UI work; however, I always find myself picking through some UnrealScript when things don't go exactly as planned. During the night, I'm an aspiring indie developer (currently working with a co-located team of misfits on an XBOX 360 and PC title called Monolith).

I stumbled upon Love after reading through a debate on the TIGSource forums about what was better, Multimedia Fusion or Game Maker. Turns out, Love always triumphs. :neko:

I'll continue to lurk here and participate in any community events as well as answer whatever technical questions I can (I'm a pretty strong programmer and designer, but I'm weak on Lua syntax and the interworkings of Love, so I'd probably be better suited for game-theory stuff).

It's a pleasure to meet everyone, and I hope to have more great experiences working with Love!
bmelts
Party member

Re: Hi, I'm Zachary!

Post by bmelts »

I rather liked your misshapen sentences written at butt o'clock. They certainly beat "hay lol heres my game plz play" (not that the level of discourse on this forum reaches that level, but you know what I mean).

Also I certainly agree that LÖVE triumphs over all. (Particularly Game Maker.)

If you need any help with Lua's (or LÖVE's) particular quirks, by all means ask around, or pop onto the IRC channel. Sometimes people even talk on it! (I'm a zombie and never sleep, so I'm usually there.)

Pleasure to meet you too! If hello.love is any indication, I'm greatly looking forward to seeing what else you produce :)
zachwlewis
Citizen