Coding a musical game using MIDI

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
bruno.dumoulin
Prole

Coding a musical game using MIDI

Post by bruno.dumoulin »

Hello,

I'm an beginner musician who tinkers with code in his spare time and I would like to write a little video game to help me make progress in music. I'm a bit of a jack of all trades, I have a guitar, a keyboard and a dualo.

I would like to write a simple video game: the game plays a midi melody, I listen to it, and then I have to reproduce it, by ear, with my instrument.

At first, I would like to be able to play the game using my dualo connected as a MIDI keyboard.

The game plays a MIDI melody then pauses and waits for me to play the notes. Then I use my dualo to play the melody back to the game, and the game simply checks that I am playing the right notes in the right order, ignoring the rhythm.

In other words, if the midi file contains the melody for "frère jacques", the game simply checks that I am indeed playing "do re mi do, do re mi do, mi fa sol, mi fa sol..."

(Later on, I would like to be able to play it with my guitar or piano, but that means capturing audio, transforming the captured sounds into midi notes... and uh... for now, writing the code to play directly in midi is complicated enough for me!)

I have a little bit of experience in programming, but I'm a beginner in coding video games... and then MIDI is a strange beast... although it looks quite simple at first glance, but in fact i find it... a bit confusing. And the documentation I found is rather cryptic.

Here is precisely what I am trying to do
Step 1: I just want to write the code that opens the midi file, plays it in audio, and gets the sequence of notes of the melody

Step 2: write the code that plays the sound when I press a key on my dualo and compares my note sequence with the one from the file