ERROR Error Src/States/PlayState.lua:83: attempt to index field 'paddle' (a nil value)

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
DebasishDatta
Prole

ERROR Error Src/States/PlayState.lua:83: attempt to index field 'paddle' (a nil value)

Post by DebasishDatta »

Hallo! I am new to lua,
I am trying to make the breakout game using a state machine as described by CS50 lecture
following is my PlayState:
---------------------------------------------------code starts here -------------------------------------------

PlayState = Class{__includes = BaseState}

function PlayState:change(params)
self.paddle = params.paddle
self.bricks = params.bricks
self.score = params.score
self.health = params.health
self.ball = params.ball
self.ball.dx = math.random(-200,200)
self.ball.dy = math.random(-70,100)
self.paused = false
params = nil
end

function PlayState:update(dt)
if self.paused then
if love.keyboard.wasPressed('space') then
self.paused = false
gSounds['pause']:play()
else
return -- to make the game remain in paused state
end
elseif love.keyboard.wasPressed('space') then
self.paused = true
gSounds['pause']:play()
return
end
self.paddle:update(dt)
self.ball:update(dt)
if self.ball:collides(self.paddle) then
self.ball.y = self.paddle.y - 8
self.ball.dy = -self.ball.dy
if self.ball.x < self.paddle.x + (self.paddle.width/2) and self.paddle.dx<0 then
self.ball.dx = -50 + - ((self.paddle.x + self.paddle.width/2 - self.ball.x) * 8)
elseif self.ball.x > self.paddle.x + (self.paddle.width/2) and self.paddle.dx > 0 then
self.ball.dx = 50 + math.abs((self.paddle.x + self.paddle.width/2 - self.ball.x) * 8)
end
gSounds['paddle-hit']:play()
end

for k,brick in pairs(self.bricks) do
if brick.inPlay and self.ball:collides(brick) then
brick:hit()
if self.ball.x + 2 < brick.x and self.ball.dx > 0 then
self.ball.dx = -self.ball.dx
self.ball.x = brick.x - 8