Why can't I store this value in variable, yet I can use it normally?

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
tommcjeff
Prole

Why can't I store this value in variable, yet I can use it normally?

Post by tommcjeff »

So I'm trying to make a simple scrolling platformer, but when I'm making it scroll, I came across this line:

Code: Select all

love.graphics.polygon("fill", objects.ground.body:getWorldPoints(objects.ground.shape:getPoints()))
I tried to replace it with this:

local allpoints = objects.ground.body:getWorldPoints(objects.ground.shape:getPoints())
love.graphics.polygon("fill", allpoints)
and it errored with:
Error

main.lua:46: Number of vertex components must be a multiple of two

Would anyone know why this happens? I'm new to love2d so I'm not sure why this is happening.
BrotSagtMist
Party member

Re: Why can't I store this value in variable, yet I can use it normally?

Post by BrotSagtMist »

This function returns multiple number values, Assignment with = only work for one single value.
You save the x value of the first point and discard the rest, obviously this cannot get drawn.
The workaround is to turn all returns into a table:
local allpoints = {objects.ground.body:getWorldPoints(objects.ground.shape:getPoints())}
obey
MrFariator
Party member

Post by MrFariator »

You can assign multiple return values from a function with the assignment operator, you just need to introduce additional variables.

local p1x, p1y, p2x, p2y, p3x, p3y = objects.ground.body:getWorldPoints(objects.ground.shape:getPoints())
love.graphics.polygon("fill", p1x, p1y, p2x, p2y, p3x, p3y)
Of course, this works mostly if you already know ahead of time how many points your polygon will have, because as far as I know, love.graphics.polygon will fail if any of the passed variables is nil.