SOLVED [ Will reuse thread ]

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Chimericect
Prole

SOLVED [ Will reuse thread ]

Post by Chimericect »

Hey there! I'm currently working on a project to graduate. It does not have to be perfect, hell it doesn't even need to be finished. I'm brand new to Lua, and honestly took on a task a little too big for me. But, this is moreso about learning than actually having something that works. But.. I want something that works. I've been following harvards CS50 course, which is where a lot of the code comes from. I started off by taking bits and basically just working through and trying to understand how it works, with the intention of expanding upon it and, eventually, making it my own code as I learn. But, I'm incredibly stuck.

About the problem|| What I'm trying to do right now is just get player to spawn in on the randomized grass-tile map. The grass tile map is fine, it appears as it should. The problem comes when I try to render the player. More will be added later, but this is my goal for now, so the generateAnimals function (that has the same problem) can be ignored. I've tried for about a week+ trying to understand what I did wrong, or what the code thinks is happening. I would love an answer, but also an explanation. I do really want to understand lua!

Right now, this is what the error looks like [ apologies for the size ]

Github: https://github.com/Chimericect/KOK_Game
Last edited by Chimericect on Sat Jul 24, 2021 11:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MrFariator
Party member

Re: Unable to index (a nil value) [ Help needed ]

Post by MrFariator »