Integrating Effekseer's efk files

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Toad Venture
Prole

Integrating Effekseer's efk files

Post by Toad Venture »

Hi all!

I'm new to LÖVE -- I'm curious if anyone has tried to use Effekseer's .efk files directly in LÖVE projects (using the Effekseer runtime library, maybe?). If so, how did you go about doing it?

I've been able to export effects to PNG spritesheets, but they take up a huge amount of space compared to .efk files, and aren't as dynamic (eg: varying in the paths that particles take each time the effect is triggered).

Thanks!
MrFariator
Party member

Re: Integrating Effekseer's efk files

Post by MrFariator »

As far as I can tell, there isn't any easy solution to your conundrum. To me it seems you'd have to grab the code for Effekseer's OpenGL branch, and write some wrapper around it to include it in your project (the help page for Cocos2d may be useful here). Even then, you'd have to make it play ball with LÖVE's draw functions, kind of asking you to add Effekseer to LÖVE source and build your own version of LÖVE, if not as an external library to load at runtime. Otherwise you'd have to reverse engineer the efk file format, and make it work with the systems LÖVE provides, which is likely not a trivial task in its own right either.

Effekseer seems to have bindings for Cocos2d, so perhaps it could be possible to ask the developers to add support for Love2d as well. They might not play ball, but hey, might be worth asking?
Toad Venture
Prole

Post by Toad Venture »

Ahh, thanks for the suggestions! I'll see if it's straightforward to get it integrated in with the draw functions and report back.
Toad Venture
Prole

Post by Toad Venture »