How to properly setup Love2D - LUA on Windows 10 ?

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
steliosPaf
Prole

How to properly setup Love2D - LUA on Windows 10 ?

Post by steliosPaf »

Good evening / morning to all.

This is my first time posting here, I've been looking around for an easy answer to my questions but I'm not satisfied so I'm making this post! If this has already been answered repeatedly then by all means, do point me in the right direction!

I'm following CS50's Introduction to Game Dev on edX, which is how I learned about Love2D and so far I'm löving it (pun intended :rofl: ) I managed to complete the first 3 assignments on my own, however I'm still very new to LUA development and something about my setup is really bugging me.

I'm using Windows 10, my editor of choice is Microsoft's VS Code, and I'd like it to stay that way. I'm using GitBash for my terminal but I also have WSL installed and I think, I have installed LUA 5.1 after blindly following some random post I found lying around. Installing LUA might actually be the single hardest thing I never managed to do. My main concerns are:
  • Debugging Love2D projects, namely having something to output to
  • Code styling / LUA support
I'm a little confused regarding my VS Code extensions. Right now I'm just using 'Love2D Support' --by Pixelbyte Studios and Lua --by keyring and I don't have the same visual results as the course instructor, I also tried 'vscode-lua' --by trixnz but I didn't like it. Right now I have zero debug output from my Love2D projects so I'd like to fix that asap, but I can't find anything online. Also I'd like to know what's the optimal way to run LUA on Windows 10, so if anyone could lend me a hand it'd be more than appreciated! I probably failed to mention some important information so, please ask for it, thank you!
AndrewMicallef
Prole