Can't use "require" for some reason?

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
pakutto
Prole

Can't use "require" for some reason?

Post by pakutto »

I was beginning a simple game to test the waters of LOVE and Lua (I'm a beginner) - and I was told about the wonders of "require" function. It's very useful for shortening those super-long "love.graphics" commands (typing "love.graphics" every time becomes a bit tedious).

To make this simple, I'm going to take a chunk of code as an example.
I tried my main.lua file, down in my love.draw function, I used to have the typical "love.graphics.setBackgroundColor(1, 1, 1)" in my love.draw function - and it worked just fine.

Then, to shorten that, I made a separate file called "wrapper.lua" - which contains the following code:

Code: Select all

function BGColor(r, g, b)
  love.graphics.setBackgroundColor(r, g, b)
end
Then, in my main.lua file, I have

require "wrapper"
then, my draw function:

function love.draw()
	BGColor(1, 1, 1)
end
Suddenly when I try to run the game - it gives an error, and says:
"attempt to call global 'BGColor' (a nil value)"

HOWEVER, when I replace my "require" function with all the code in "wrapper.lua" instead - it works wonderfully.

Yes, "wrapper.lua" is in the same folder as "main.lua".
And yes, I tried require ("wrapper") with the parenthesis instead - which also didn't work.
And just in case, I also renamed wrapper.lua to something random (lookadis.lua) in case it was the file name for some weird reason, but that didn't work either.

Can anyone let me know what I'm doing wrong?
raidho36
Party member

Re: Can't use "require" for some reason?

Post by raidho36 »

I tried doing this and it worked fine. It might help if you attach a minimal bundle that reproduces the problem. In the process of compiling it, you might find a solution, too.
pgimeno
Party member

Post by pgimeno »