Help needed for a local "multiplayer" game

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Kulbeans
Prole

Help needed for a local "multiplayer" game

Post by Kulbeans »

Hi everyone,

First of all, I'm fairly new to game development in general and Love2d in specific so I apologise for any noob question I might have. I would like to a have a quick brainstorm with you regarding my project and how can I approach it with Love2d.

Right now I have a Nodejs application (the game backend) that's running on a Raspberry Pi. There are a couple controllers connect via USB (next step is having them wirelessly). The game frontend/GUI is a simple thing I'm developing in React as a Web app. That way I could open it in a browser locally, show it on a TV through HDMI while people use their controllers. I also need to have someone connected through a different interface (let's call it an admin panel) to control some things of the game while it's running through a smartphone. I would like to use Love2d to spice up the main GUI, without being limited by a Web framework (also make the development quicker).

My questions are:
a) is this a good use case to use Love2d?
b) can I run Love2d on a Raspberry Pi? If so, how?
c) can I use the same Nodejs backend?
d) Are sockets supported?
e) how can I do with the admin panel?

Thanks!
ivan
Party member

Re: Help needed for a local "multiplayer" game

Post by ivan »

Just to clarify, is this a split/shared screen game? If "yes" then why do you need a backend at all?
Love2D supports multiple controllers which is enough for a couch multiplayer game - no need for a server/backend at all.
LuaSocket is included with Love2D and it works quite well (no support for HTTPS though).
Kulbeans
Prole

Post by Kulbeans »