Lower performance on better hardware?

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
emery303
Prole

Lower performance on better hardware?

Post by emery303 »

Hi LÖVE community,

Checked the topics and the wiki but didn't find relevant stuff that might help me, so I'm asking you.

I'm new to the whole Love2D framework, and just starting out, but I encountered a weird phenomenon regarding performance when running the final EXE on a different machine.

Scenario:

- In every update() there are a bunch of calculations and shader parameter assignments, and a sleep() to cap the FPS at 30. (this is important for timing)
- The draw() function just loops through all drawable assets and put them on the screen
- There is a main soundtrack playing which drives what happens by determining the playback sample position in every update() and adjusting control values accordingly, so what happens on screen depends on where the playback is at.
- That said, the program is just a gfx demo, no user interaction happens nor is it handled.

The whole thing runs smoothly on my laptop, without problems. I assemble the final .exe by packing everything into one file (so all sound and image files are inside the executable and handled static). In the final distribution dir only the .exe and the necessary DLLs are present.

I transfer this to a desktop machine, and the framerate is drastically lower. Sound is playing properly, and everything happens according to playback positions, but in an extremely sluggish manner. Clearly there are way less update()-s per second, though I'd expect that it runs a lot more, hence the framerate cap mentioned before.
I have no idea what goes wrong. I tried forcing the execution to 1 CPU (though I never multithreaded anything in the code), I also checked if the OS refuses to use the 3D acceleration, but it's not the case.

Development machine: