3 doesn't equal 3?

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
MrGreen
Prole

3 doesn't equal 3?

Post by MrGreen »

Hello, I am new to LÖVE and I want to start with a very basic snake game. But as soon as I started, I got a problem.

What I am trying to do with this is, that when I am going in one direction, I cannot be able to move in the opposite direction. So I created an equation for it: (4/3)*(x^3) - 10*(x^2)+ (65/3)*x - 10

Code: Select all

control = {"up", 1, "right", 2, "down", 3, "left", 4}
x =(4/3)*((control[1 + 1])^3)-10*((control[1 + 1])^2)+(65/3)*(control[1 + 1])-10
print(x) <---- 3 gets printed
if x == 3 then
	print("dumm") <---- "dumm" is not printed, WHY????
end
Although the equation returns 3, "dumm" is not printed.

What am I doing wrong?

This is my actual code, but the code above shows my problem more clearly, I think.

if love.keyboard.isDown(control[1]) and direction ~= x and direction ~= control[1 + 1] then
--	if grid[frontX][frontY] + 1 ~= grid[frontX][frontY - 1] and verti ~= -1 then
		direction = control[1 + 1]

--	end
end
raidho36
Party member

Re: 3 doesn't equal 3?

Post by raidho36 »

Floating point numbers don't store values exactly, only approximately. Lua uses 64 bit floats so you get approximation with precision to about 15 digits. There could be about 300 zeroes on either side but only 15 decimal places to hold the actual number.

Double precision floats have a special property: they can store integers exactly. So you get 53 bits of integer storage to play around, but the numbers must be exact integers - every operation is limited by the precision and this tiny error accumulates and amplifies, so arriving back at an "integer" through some math won't work, because it won't be an exact integer.