How do I get local coords?

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
wburton95
Prole

How do I get local coords?

Post by wburton95 »

I'm new to love and I am building a little space shooter. I need to figure out how to get local coords to manipulate a physics body in the game. Basically I need to figure out how to rotate my ship on screen using the mouse, and then I want to dampen the rotation so it feels slow like a ship or tank turret. I thought I may be able to figure this out if I had the local coords but I'm not sure now. I've done some digging and I cannot figure out how to do this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

If anyone is curious about my project goal or what I am trying to do here, I want to make a game like Battle Stations (PS1) but with space ships. Maybe later add networking then add the ability to raid ships with a friend or something cool that adds another layer of gameplay. My goal for me with this project is to become a better programmer and have something to show for it. I figured that if I made a game that would be the perfect challenge for me, since games do cover a variety of advanced programming topics.
Last edited by wburton95 on Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.
JoshGrams
Prole

Re: How do I get local coords?

Post by JoshGrams »

I'm not sure what you're using for phyics, but physics bodies are almost always in world coordinates. Local coordinates are generally used for attaching child objects (guns, etc) to a body, not for interacting with other bodies or things like the mouse cursor.

You could possibly use the Transform objects to handle transforms, but for this case you probably don't need anything that complicated.