Using COM ports

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
IndieKid
Citizen

Using COM ports

Post by IndieKid »

Hey everyone. Haven't written anything for a while. I got some kind of weird question.

I started programming microcontrollers. Currently working with ARM Cortex M3 (STM32L152RC). I learned to connect microcontroller to computer using COM port (DE-9) and to transfer data to and from microcontoroller using UART and RS-232.

I wonder if anyone can advise me if there is a way to do some stuff with COM ports inside Love2D. Imagine Love2D game which can be controlled with selfmade old school joystick. It would be awesome.

Thanks for any help and sorry for my English.

--- UPDATE ---

So this is what I've got: https://youtu.be/W2v4NcP3IJE
Last edited by IndieKid on Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
raidho36
Party member

Re: Using COM ports

Post by raidho36 »

Just make it a USB joystick. Or write an OS driver that recognizes it as joystick. COM ports nowdays are only kept around for legacy hardware. Modern units use Ethernet and USB.

Having that said, I think I saw somewhere a COM library for Lua.
Positive07
Party member

Post by Positive07 »

I imagine raidho's answer is useless, since you are trying to do this as a hobby and because of fun and the sake of learning, I want to point you out in the direction of connecting a microcontroller through COM ports, being RS-232 or a USB simulating such port, regardless of there being a better option (USB, Ethernet).

My answer is to compile a library. The library I have used is called librs232, and I have experience compiling it under Windows, if you need more information please tell me, I can help you compile this library.