Physics are a pain.

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
lejeunerenard
Prole

Physics are a pain.

Post by lejeunerenard »

Hey guys. Im new to Love and started a programming in Love a couple days ago and I am just plain stuck when it comes to using the physics engine. Nothing works out as I would imagine.

So first off I want to know a couple good values for things such as mass for a character and values for gravity. Secondly, I am making a platform game which doesnt need to have platforms that allow you to jump up through or anything, I just need a character that reacts to physical objects doesnt go through walls or floors and falls at a normal rate. How do I go about doing stuff such as movement? Should I use applyForce() or applyImpulse()? So far in order to stop my character from rotating I just give him a circle shape and have the character draw without angle modifications. This lead to problems with the circle continuing to rotate cause the character to glide. I think I just had to jack up the angular damping to make the character come to a stop. Another problem I've had besides rather slow gravity for my character, is that when moving from side to side the character falls slower.