Directory & Code Organisation

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
ixjf
Prole

Directory & Code Organisation

Post by ixjf »

Hi there,

I have been programming for about 3 years (Lua, C++ and a few others), and I feel this is a big problem to me. It has always been, to be honest, but when I was newbie this was not a problem, I mean, newbies don't care about that? (I was a 10-11 year old guy at that time, barely understood anything) Meanwhile I am working on two projects, and it's being a really very big problem for me to organise my code (be it code organisation within files, or folder organisation), I am barely ever able to start a project, because I cannot come up with a proper design and I delete the whole code, to do a fresh start - I have been this way on a project for half the summer now. I am a perfectionist, nothing can be wrong, or it makes me feel kinda.. I don't know how to explain what I feel - It simply has to be perfect, and this affects me much, and stops me from finishing any project, because I am never satisfied. I wonder, do any of you have this problem too? Have any of you ever had it, how did you overcome this problem? How do you organise your files and code within the files? Could all of this be just due to my lack of imagination to design code?

Believe me, I have searched a lot about this, but I couldn't find any information that would fit my case.
I used to be an adventurer like you, but then I took an arrow in the knee.
Davidobot
Party member

Re: Directory & Code Organisation

Post by Davidobot »

I think this thread will help you out: http://love2d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=38100
I contains a lot of different programming code layouts and such. So be sure to read it all. :)
PM me on here or elsewhere if you'd like to discuss porting your game to Nintendo Switch via mazette!
personal page and a raycaster
ixjf
Prole