[Help] Circle Collision detection and reaction

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
andrew.207
Prole

[Help] Circle Collision detection and reaction

Post by andrew.207 »

I'm still very new to LUA/Love2D, so let me know if there are any glaring code structure issues. I have come from a heavy OO background, which I believe is quite bad for LUA.

My project is creating a simple circle collision detection and rebound system. It detects the collision fine, and I'm pretty sure my maths is right, I think my logic is very wrong though. My aim is to have the rebound occur close to real life -- taking into account changes in angle as well as speed.

If anyone could help me out with suggestions or links to examples that'd be a great help. Doesn't have to be LUA examples, can be virtually any language -- even just theory.

BTW I looked through hardon collider and it went way over my head.

The code below is the important bit, within object:update(dt). Each shape has the obvious vars (x, y, speeds, size etc) and also an ID to act as a unique identifier for each object to make this stuff easier.

edit: forgot to say I've already read http://www.wildbunny.co.uk/blog/2011/04 ... r-dummies/ and I just don't understand the last little bit about the vector.

Code: Select all

-- Check if any shapes are colliding with each other
  -- Objects are on top of each other if the distance between them is greater than the sum of their radii.
  -- For every shape in the shape table
  for di,dv in ipairs(shapes) do  
    if (self.id ~= dv.id) then -- If we're not colliding with ourself
      -- Distance between the two circles
      H = math.distanceBetween(self.x, self.y, dv.x, dv.y)   
      local A = self.x - dv.x -- Distance of adjacent edge
      -- Angle given when a right angle triangle is created with self and dv