Drawing fonts

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
matthewburk
Prole

Drawing fonts

Post by matthewburk »

Since this is my first time posting, let me just say I love love.

Now down to business. When drawing a font with graphics.print() x and y seem aren't top left, but seem to be the pen origin, so all of my text is not where i want it exactly. I couldn't find any font metrics api so that i could compenstate, is there a way to draw a font with x,y as top left?
rhezalouis
Party member

[response]Pen Origin?

Post by rhezalouis »

Eh? I'm sorry I don't get what do you mean with pen origin. :surprised:I thought the origins for both the X and Y axes are always at the top-left, like:

Code: Select all

0 1 2 3 4 5
so, could you show an example of your work?

I think to invert the position, you might set the variables as something like this

x = love.graphics.getWidth() - xInMyReference;
y = love.graphics.getHeight() - yInMyReference;
and use them as

love.graphics.print(myText, x, y);
, eh?
Aargh, I am wasting my posts! My citizenshiiiip... :o
Robin
The Omniscient

Re: Drawing fonts

Post by Robin »

matthewburk wrote:When drawing a font with graphics.print() x and y seem aren't top left, but seem to be the pen origin, so all of my text is not where i want it exactly. I couldn't find any font metrics api so that i could compenstate, is there a way to draw a font with x,y as top left?
That (x,y is the bottom-left location instead of top-left) is a known problem, and is fixed in the latest development version.

As a drop-in fix, you can try this:

do
    local prnt = love.graphics.print
    function love.graphics.print(text, x, y)
        prnt(text, x, y - love.graphics.getFont():getHeight(text))
    end
end
Help us help you: attach a .love.
bartbes
Sex machine

Post by bartbes »

I'd recommend you store it though, this is pretty inefficient.