export video from love2d

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
cizhenshi
Prole

export video from love2d

Post by cizhenshi »

I'm new to Love2D, and I want to generate a video via love2D's rendering engine. Is there a way to render code directly into a video instead of running it in a window? Thanks!!
RNavega
Party member

Re: export video from love2d

Post by RNavega »

Hi, I think the closest thing is the Canvas type, used for off-screen rendering. See these:
- https://love2d.org/wiki/Canvas
- https://love2d.org/wiki/Canvas:newImageData (a copy of the pixels in the canvas as an ImageData type)
- https://love2d.org/wiki/ImageData:encode (saving that ImageData as a file)

This means you'd capture an image sequence to files and later on encode them to a video using a different program.
A fallback in case this isn't working for you is to use OBS or some other screen recorder app to capture the main LÖVE window, like Youtube or Twitch streamers do.
zorg
Party member

Post by zorg »

Adding to the above answer, you could modify love.run to assure that update and draw get called at constant time intervals, so that the output frame rate won't fluctuate (that is to say, the visuals won't).
Me and my stuff :3True Neutral Aspirant. Why, yes, i do indeed enjoy sarcastically correcting others when they make the most blatant of spelling mistakes. No bullying or trolling the innocent tho.
ivan
Party member

Post by ivan »

zorg wrote: Tue Sep 08, 2020 6:24 am so that the output frame rate won't fluctuate (that is to say, the visuals won't).
In theory you could render the frames in a loop - it doesn't have to be in real time.
Either way it's important to use a "fixed time step"
ReFreezed
Party member

Post by ReFreezed »