Need advice on splitting program into multiple files

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
SpencerBeige
Prole

Need advice on splitting program into multiple files

Post by SpencerBeige »

Hi,

I'm just starting out with Love2D, and before now I've never worked with multiple lua files in one program, so I need a bit of advice.

I understand that the most common use of separated files is for OOP. However, I'm currently working on a set of functions that manage the window / screen, and I wanted them to all be in their own file (window.lua). Because I want to use these functions and tables outside of this file, none of them can be local. I don't know exactly why, but I've seen online that making everything global is bad practice.

The only solution I can think of is to throw all of these functions/tables into a table, then load the file using require(). But I can't believe that this is the best solution - it makes everything really messy and confusing.

Does anyone know of a better solution?

Thanks
gilzoide
Prole

Re: Need advice on splitting program into multiple files

Post by gilzoide »

Some of the things about globals are that:
  • they may be accidentally accessed or overriden, for example if you give it a generic name like "object" or "image" that is easy to be misused
  • if it's a table with too many variables/state inside, it's easy to introduce subtle bugs, like if you forget to reset one variable when resetting your game, then everything gets weird,
  • globals usually make debugging (and writing automated tests) more cumbersome, as they are implicit dependencies to your code.