Experience

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
mikulka
Prole

Experience

Post by mikulka »

So what is everyone's experience with game development, Lua (and other languages), ...

I have made some very simple games (tic-tac-toe, mahjong solitaire, ...).
I once made a presentation/review about Lua, but haven't written anything in this language before.
I'm most experienced with Java and C#.
mike
Administrator

Re: Experience

Post by mike »

What the hell is this? LiveJournal?

No no, I am just kidding (as always). I started learning Java at school and made some simple text-games there (remember the Chicken Adventure, zig?). Then I tried experimenting with some graphical stuff ("Amish Battle Monkey Raper 2: War Dildo") and even JOGL ("Digital Fist Project"). Moved over to C++ when I entered the university and made some simple games (only one ever completed was "Line Design Test") and was then recruited to make LÖVE with rude.

Had never heard of Lua until it was to be our scripting language.
Now posting IN STEREO (where available)
tido
Prole

Post by tido »

Apart from a very basic guess the number game in C++ back in my younger days, I've only done some RoboCode bot-programming in Java and some very rudimentary OpenGL stuff in C++. Learned Java later during high schoo as part of a computer science class, an ordeal that has caused much grief and mental illness ever since.

Voluntarily joined LÖVE before 0.1 release, but not early enough to be part of the core team. Except for writing a very specific tool for rude and mike, I'm spending most of my days making sure LÖVE compiles under Linux with no warnings. Haven't written a single LUA line in my life... so far.
Sardtok
Party member

Post by Sardtok »