Adventures of Barnabus! [T.A.O.T.R.T.W.G.E.]

Show off your games, demos and other (playable) creations.
User avatar
Banoticus
Citizen
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:01 pm
Location: London

Re: THANKS SO MUCH!

Post by Banoticus »

coffee wrote:
Banoticus wrote:working as smoothly as ever. :awesome:
The menu is working smoothly but I can't say the same of that "flickering" moving cloud and other moving things. I'm getting only 21FPS thing what only happens in that heavy LOVE demanding technical demos. You should check for something wrong in your code.
The cloud was only an experiment. When i remove it, the FPS difference isn't that great. What is the FPS supposed to be for this sort of game?
coffee
Party member
Posts: 1206
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: THANKS SO MUCH!

Post by coffee »

Banoticus wrote:
coffee wrote:
Banoticus wrote:working as smoothly as ever. :awesome:
The menu is working smoothly but I can't say the same of that "flickering" moving cloud and other moving things. I'm getting only 21FPS thing what only happens in that heavy LOVE demanding technical demos. You should check for something wrong in your code.
The cloud was only an experiment. When i remove it, the FPS difference isn't that great. What is the FPS supposed to be for this sort of game?
Not saying that it's cloud fault. But watching that cloud hurts my eyes. Usually I get in any LOVE game steady 60FPS. So if I'm getting only 21FPS something could be wrong. Bad draws, draw too much things or repeated things, repeated calls. Could be a lot of things. Review the code.
PS. And if you didn't noticed remove the untitled.txt (at least in distributed version).

EDITED: Even in ultrafast JIT version I'm only getting 38fps. That's not good.
User avatar
Petunien
Party member
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: South Tyrol (Italy)

Re: T.A.O.T.R.T.W.G.E.

Post by Petunien »

I get 55-60 FPS on a 4 year old laptop.

Maybe is something wrong with your configuration or your pc?
"Docendo discimus" - Lucius Annaeus Seneca
coffee
Party member
Posts: 1206
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: T.A.O.T.R.T.W.G.E.

Post by coffee »

Petunien wrote:I get 55-60 FPS on a 4 year old laptop.

Maybe is something wrong with your configuration or your pc?
Sorry but since it's a regular standard Mac that config problem things or bad driver updates don't happen. All LOVE things run fine concerning videocards. Well, I did my job warning. Because where is smoke there's fire.

I even checked LOVE game config file and noticed that vsync was false.
Proof of something wrong's is that hiding blocks draw all rises normally to 60fps with vsync true and 600/700fps with vsync turned off! So block draw routine it's eating a lot.
limited.png
limited.png
EDITED. Problem found (for free). Because draw all map (#map.width/#map.height) isn't always a good thing (80*32 = 2560px / 80*32 = 2560 px)

Quick Hack

Code: Select all

		for y = 0, (love.graphics.getHeight()/map.tiles.height)+1 do
			for x = 0, (love.graphics.getWidth()/map.tiles.width)+1 do
instead of

Code: Select all

		for y = 0, map.height do
			for x = 0, map.width do
Remember this only works for fixed screen and was to demo whats wrong. Now you need to make some formula that follows player and prints in screen from most visible left side from screen to most right visible side.
User avatar
Banoticus
Citizen
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:01 pm
Location: London

Re: T.A.O.T.R.T.W.G.E.

Post by Banoticus »

coffee wrote:
Petunien wrote:I get 55-60 FPS on a 4 year old laptop.

Maybe is something wrong with your configuration or your pc?
Sorry but since it's a regular standard Mac that config problem things or bad driver updates don't happen. All LOVE things run fine concerning videocards. Well, I did my job warning. Because where is smoke there's fire.

I even checked LOVE game config file and noticed that vsync was false.
Proof of something wrong's is that hiding blocks draw all rises normally to 60fps with vsync true and 600/700fps with vsync turned off! So block draw routine it's eating a lot.
limited.png
limited.png
EDITED. Problem found (for free). Because draw all map (#map.width/#map.height) isn't always a good thing (80*32 = 2560px / 80*32 = 2560 px)

Quick Hack

Code: Select all

		for y = 0, (love.graphics.getHeight()/map.tiles.height)+1 do
			for x = 0, (love.graphics.getWidth()/map.tiles.width)+1 do
instead of

Code: Select all

		for y = 0, map.height do
			for x = 0, map.width do
Remember this only works for fixed screen and was to demo whats wrong. Now you need to make some formula that follows player and prints in screen from most visible left side from screen to most right visible side.
Thank you. I'll try to figure out that formula.
P.S. What in the world is wrong with your grab - the program to take screenshots on your mac - i can see other programs around the edges.
User avatar
Davidobot
Party member
Posts: 1213
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:18 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Re: T.A.O.T.R.T.W.G.E.

Post by Davidobot »

Fixed the rendering of the whole world. Now it renders only the parts that you see, and that means- UNLIMITED WORLDS. :awesome:
*Now to think of a way to procedurely generate worlds (like in Minecraft)*

P.S. Updated original post.
My projects: Raycaster, love.js v11.3 port
itch page: link
My website: link
My library: LovelyMoon
User avatar
Banoticus
Citizen
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:01 pm
Location: London

Re: T.A.O.T.R.T.W.G.E.-intro

Post by Banoticus »

I start up the game. It shows me the intro with the weird spinning circle. At the bottom of the screen i see the words 'press any key to continue'.
NO!
I would like to know if there is a way to make an actual intro. Is there a way i can get the program to count for a few seconds and then start the game. If so - thank goodness - and how?
User avatar
Petunien
Party member
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: South Tyrol (Italy)

Re: T.A.O.T.R.T.W.G.E.

Post by Petunien »

I'm sure you will make a main menu with other submenus like Options, Load Game, etc.
Therefore you'll need to implement gamestates.

So, let's say, your intro is a slideshow of 5 seconds.

While a global variable (gameState) == "intro", do nothing about the game.
And then, if the gameState == "play", start the game.

Something like that could be the solution. :)
"Docendo discimus" - Lucius Annaeus Seneca
User avatar
Banoticus
Citizen
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 4:01 pm
Location: London

Re: T.A.O.T.R.T.W.G.E.

Post by Banoticus »

I added the intro feature to the crawler of dungeons and am about to do to TAOTRTWGE.
User avatar
juno
Citizen
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 4:32 pm
Location: London

Re: T.A.O.T.R.T.W.G.E.

Post by juno »

This is awesome! got pretty freaked out when i locked myself inside a load of blocks...Then i realized right click removes them
wat ya mean she's in another castle!?
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests