polyamory - Multi-version LÖVE

Show off your games, demos and other (playable) creations.
grump
Party member

polyamory - Multi-version LÖVE

Post by grump »

Yo dawg, I herd you like LÖVE games, so I put LÖVE in your LÖVE so you can play while you play!

polyamory is an experimental, portable LÖVE distribution for Windows and Linux that runs games written for every LÖVE version since 0.8.0.

When you run a game with polyamory, it looks at the version identifier the author hopefully put in his game and starts it with that LÖVE version. This works with games written for 11.x, 0.10.x, 0.9.x, and 0.8.0. If the game has no version information, it tries to detect what version the game was written for and asks which version you want to run it with, with a recommendation for the best matching version.

Yeah, I'm no designer

polyamory does not require installation. The Windows version can be used separately from your installed LÖVE, or you can replace the installed version with polyamory to run all LÖVE files with it. It already contains the fix for 11.1 that prevented it from starting on Windows 10 update 1809.

The Linux version is a standalone, self-contained AppImage that should work on all systems where LÖVE 11.1 works.

This is an experimental hack. I have only tested it with a few games. Most should just work, but there's probably a bunch of games out there doing weird shit in their conf.lua that breaks stuff. I'd love to hear about those games, so I can look at them and try to make polyamory more compatible. Report non-working games on Github or here!

Github repository

License: same as LÖVE

Download version 0.4.2
Last edited by grump on Sun Mar 24, 2019 5:56 pm, edited 10 times in total.
pgimeno
Party member

Re: polyamory - Multi-version LÖVE

Post by pgimeno »

Glad you made it! Great job.

Is 11.0 really necessary? It's just 11.1 with bad bugs that I doubt will be relied on by any program. I think it's safer to launch 11.1 when 11.0 is requested.