Need some help guys!

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
InsaneWizard
Prole

Need some help guys!

Post by InsaneWizard »

reetings dear forum LOVE2D. I am not an English-speaking person, if there are any misunderstandings or mistakes I apologize. First of all I want to sGreetings ay that I'm a newbie in programming. But I always wanted to develop games. And I understand that programming requires mathematical thinking. I'm not sure about that.
A year ago I started to learn Lua and LOVE2D. But I gave up because of university. But now I want to learn Lua again, and fulfill my longtime dream. And I was inspired by half life. That game inspired me a lot. And I wanted to create a game or after creating a game, a game engine similar in style to HL. And despite the fact that many say that it is better to start with a simple for example RPG and similar 2D games. But I'm just sure that LOVE2D has a huge potential for 3D and with the help of this engine can create a masterpiece.
But the problem is that for 3D games I don't know how to do a lot of things. Even if I want a 2D game, I don't even know how to draw pixel art. This is my first major problem. The second big problem is that I have a very old PC. A laptop to be exact. With the following specifications
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo P8600 2.4 GHz 3 MB Cache
4 ram
NVIDIA Quadro NVS 160 M 256 vram.
and because of these specifications I use love 9.2 and not love 11.x. And there is one more problem, I don't know a lot of things. not 3D, not comopositor, many and many other things that game dev needs. But despite these problems I have one good skill. Communication and work with scenario.But I need help and advice from more experienced people. I'm sure that I can get my dream if I try, even though it may take a very long time.
dusoft
Party member

Re: Need some help guys!

Post by dusoft »

Hello,