punch animation - keypressed, keyreleased

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Rickfg
Prole

punch animation - keypressed, keyreleased

Post by Rickfg »

Hello,
I am new to game developing as am doing as final project for a course.
I managed to animate everything as I am doing a small 2d beat 'em up type of game.
The issue I am facing is that I set the key "u" to be a punch button. When key "u" is pressed (using keypressed) I set the character attribute of self.jab to true. That will stop the idle and walking sprite from being drawn and the sprite of the punch will be drawn.
I then set the keyreleased to set self.jab = false so the idle or waking sprite to be drawn again.
The issue I am facing is that it all works on press, however, if I hold key "u" down, the idle or walking sprite are never drawn, only when I release the key "u".
I have tried to add logic using isrepeat, love.keyboard.isDown("u") and nothing makes it work. The default attribute for self.jab is set to false.

I have attached the full code for limbs.lua, which creates the limbs (arms and legs) and their properties.
They directly related to the character, so I attached that as well.

keypressed and keyreleased logic are in character.lua.

Hope you can help!
Thanks in advance!
Attachments
limbs.lua
(3.25 KiB) Downloaded 41 times
character.lua
(8.7 KiB) Downloaded 47 times
RNavega
Party member

Re: punch animation - keypressed, keyreleased

Post by RNavega »

Hi. That's a fun but also very complicated part of coding your game, when you're taking input events and translating them into behaviors in your game, so as to solve the problem of "when I press a key I want to trigger this thing to happen, and this thing will go on by the next few frames regardless of whether that key is still pressed or not".