Writing stuff in separate files

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Xrocetoxtos
Prole

Writing stuff in separate files

Post by Xrocetoxtos »

Hi people, I'm new here (well, I have some Löve experience back in the past, but switched to Unity and revisiting Löve now)

I am working on a survival game of currently just blocks avoiding each other and I'm getting to the point of inserting some animations and graphics. To avoid my files being very large and stuff being hard to find and debug, I want graphics stuff, AI stuff, inventory stuff etc outside the main.lua if it's possible.

I know you can use the require to link to other files, but can anyone tell me how to set that up? I'm planning to have a graphics.lua file that will contain a couple of references like an image called "spritesheet" and a couple of functions to do something with that image. in main.lua, I want to access those functions and references in code, like in love.draw().

for instance:

Code: Select all

-- main.lua

graphics = require 'graphics'

-- [...]

function love.update(dt)
	graphics.doSomething(dt)
end

-- graphics.lua

function doSomething(dt)
	-- AAA-style graphics doing mindboggling stuff
end
How should that be done?
Andlac028
Party member

Re: Writing stuff in separate files

Post by Andlac028 »

Basically, modify your graphics.lua to return table, like:

local graphics = {}

function graphics.doSomething(a, b)
    -- your logic here
end

-- maybe more functions

return graphics
Then you can just do what you have in main.lua (note that if graphics.lua is not in same directory as main.lua (for example it is in scripts/graphics.lua, you need do call require with ‘scripts.graphics’ instead of ‘graphics’ only)
BrotSagtMist
Party member

Post by BrotSagtMist »

Well there are basically two ways of using require: