Concept of a button?

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
Ramcat
Prole

Concept of a button?

Post by Ramcat »

So I just announced the "soft" launch of "LoveTank". And I also mentioned the desire to add a screen that allows people to select which tanks will participate in the battle. What I'd like to do is have each tank name be a "button", so that when you click it, it changes color or otherwise shows it's selected.

I'm an old coder, I started on mainframes about 10 years before the PC revolution and moved to PC programming as my profession after my stint in my county's armed forces. My point there is I have coded in a lot of languages and paradigms. I code AS3 and like the similarities between that and Lua. I read https://love2d.org/wiki/Easy_GUI_System where he seems to be using classes and prototypical features of the language to "bolt on" methods that react to clicking on them or hovering over them. Unfortunately I could not find his code (seems to be missing from github).

As I was writing this, I remember reading http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2207 ... -clickable where it appears that the "love.update(dt)" function is creating an anonymous function that corresponds to an already existing Love2D function. To me that seems like bad coding but maybe each of the love.mousepressed functions will all fire. I guess this is similar to the Observer pattern that notifies as many listeners as exist.

If I had the code below, would both functions "fire"?

Code: Select all

function love.update(dt)
    function love.mousepressed( x, y)   
        if x > 440 and x < 540 and y > 380 and y < 410 then 
            love.event.quit()
        end
    end
end

function love.mousepressed(x, y, button)
	_GameOn = true
end