Physics - Platformer - Jumping

Show off your games, demos and other (playable) creations.
pronoy
Prole

Physics - Platformer - Jumping

Post by pronoy »

Hello there loved ones,

I am new to love2d and lua and it's been 3 days I began and it's pretty much been great. I've had a little experience with the likes of Polycode, Cocos2dx and Ogre3d and tons of Python. But Love2D has been the best. It is so easy to understand and work with.

The end objective is to have a platformer with Physics and for that I need to first master jumping. The jumping I've come up with is a bit irritating. The object moves into the air and then it moves left or right.
Here's my code:
http://pastie.org/2883068

Please don't spare my feelings and let me know how to go about things the right way, any advice would be appreciated. Here's some of the explanation to why which things were added:

1. X and Y tracing because I thought if I could somehow code it as per if the y co ordinate isn't 580 means it's still in mid air. But this would cause problems later, considering the platforms the Y co ordinate as to change.
2. Dynamic because I thought that if the object is in Motion it would give Dynamic is True and if not then False, I think I got that wrong
3. The one thing I want to implement is to have it stop at the screen's edge, I havent' been able to figure out how to do that. How do I stop it from going beyond an X coordinate?
4 If you press the up key twice the jump starts from the bottom. How to avoid that?

If there's any prior discussion on this problem, please lead me to the link. I'd like to read up all I can. Thank you all.
coffee
Party member

Re: Physics - Platformer - Jumping

Post by coffee »

Not an expert in physics code sorry but just wanted to welcome you to LOVE! Have fun around and good coding! :)
Ellohir
Party member

Post by Ellohir »

It just needed a few tweaks.

Code: Select all

objects.ball.body:setMassFromShapes()