"stateswitcher" and Images

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
BurningScript
Prole

"stateswitcher" and Images

Post by BurningScript »

Hello, I'm new to Löve2D and LUA in general. My goal is to create a simple menu with a background, so I installed "stateswitcher" (https://love2d.org/wiki/Stateswitcher).

In my "menu.lua" I tried to load this image and draw it, but it won't work:

Code: Select all

Error

menu.lua:16: bad argument #1 to 'draw' (Drawable expected, got nil)

Traceback

[C]: in function 'draw'
menu.lua:16: in function 'draw'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

My main.lua:

state=require("lib.state.stateswitcher")

function love.load()

state.switch("menu")
end

My "menu.lua":

state=require("lib.state.stateswitcher")
anim = require('lib.anim8.anim8')

function love.load()
    bgimg = love.graphics.newImage("img/bg.png")
end

function love.update(dt)

end

function love.draw()

love.graphics.draw(bgimg)

end

If I use the menu.lua code in my "main.lua" without stateswitcher it works like a charm.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!
raidho36
Party member

Re: "stateswitcher" and Images

Post by raidho36 »

I'm guessing that love.load in your menu.lua doesn't run, since it already ran in main.lua and it's only called exactly once.

You can remedy this problem by modifying the state switcher code a little; after the line where it requires target module, you would manually call love.load function.
pgimeno
Party member

Post by pgimeno »

BurningScript wrote: Wed Oct 02, 2019 7:04 pm What am I doing wrong?