A Question about SpriteBatch and Maxsprites

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
sphyrth
Party member

A Question about SpriteBatch and Maxsprites

Post by sphyrth »

So this is what I've read in the SpriteBatch Wiki:
01.png
01.png (14.23 KiB) Viewed 5970 times
Because of that, I started coding like this:

Code: Select all

spriteBatch = love.graphics.newSpriteBatch(img, 1)
I just set maxsprites to 1, and let any tile I add grow it. Is it a good programming practice, or should I go with something like this:

Code: Select all

spriteBatch = love.graphics.newSpriteBatch(img, 50, 'static')
Yeah, I read further down the wiki. If I understand it correctly, is the only reasonable way to use a fixed maxsprites is to set usage to 'static'?
zorg
Party member

Re: A Question about SpriteBatch and Maxsprites

Post by zorg »

The SpriteBatchUsage page says that the 'static' type means "The object will not be modified after initial sprites or vertices are added."

To me, it's not that clear-cut whether that means that one can't even call the set method on sprite objects defined when the batch was created, or just that one can't add/remove sprites to/from the batch, but can modify the existing ones... or whether the usage has absolutely zero to do with changing the amount of sprites in the batch and just with whether you update the existing ones always (once per frame), rarely, or never.

As for whether allowing löve to auto-grow your spritebatches, or pre-defining a max number is better in terms of processing speed or memory size... if it has that large of an impact, you'd best test it yourself, otherwise both should be fine... although i would lean towards just setting it to a number you'd assume you'd never go beyond.