Love taking forever to start... [Solved]

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Slayer
Prole

Love taking forever to start... [Solved]

Post by Slayer »

Hello, I recently started programming with Lua and decided that game programming would help me learn the language better, enter LOVE. I really like LOVE because it is so easy to use, but when I run anything it takes upwards of 20+ seconds to start, making progress extremely slow. Now it only takes a long time to start when I run code with it, by itself Love starts instantly. I'm Sure this is a case of user error or improper configuration, but I cant seem to figure it out.

This is just a simple test have been playing with in love. The message moves up and down and changes.

Code: Select all

Greet = "Hello World"
msgy = 300

function move()
	if love.keyboard.isDown("e") then
		msgy = msgy-1
	end
	if love.keyboard.isDown("d") then
		msgy = msgy+1
	end
end
function changemsg()
	if love.keyboard.isDown("w") then
		Greet = "Goodbye!"
	end
end

function love.update()
	move()
	changemsg()
end

function love.draw()
	love.graphics.print(Greet, 400, msgy)
end
Last edited by Slayer on Wed Jan 04, 2017 9:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Slayer
Prole

Re: Love taking forever to start... :(

Post by Slayer »

My PC:

Windows 8.1
Intel I7 4790k
16gb ram

OpenGL
4.5.0 NVIDIA 372.54
NVIDIA Corparation
GeForce GTX 970/PCIe/SSE2

Edit:
I have also disabled my antivirus to no avail. I'm using the 64bit version perhaps I should try the 32bit?
Last edited by Slayer on Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
raidho36
Party member

Post by raidho36 »