I don't understand classes

Questions about the LÖVE API, installing LÖVE and other support related questions go here.
Forum rules
Before you make a thread asking for help, read this.
Vimm
Party member

I don't understand classes

Post by Vimm »

for as long as I've been studying programming (on and off for a few years) I've never understood how classes work and how to "call them" or whatever, like if I make an enemy class and try to add it to main, i always get some kind of error and just dont understand, which is why ive never made it far in programming, it confuses me and i get frustrated, and end up quitting . Can someone help me? I dont want to quit this time but I cant comprehend classes :/ I've watched tutorials and the such, and yeah i can get the tutorials code to work, but I dont understand why it works ><
Robin
The Omniscient

Re: I don't understand classes

Post by Robin »

Okay, so could you upload a recent attempt of yours to use classes? Then we can walk you through it step by step. If you help us help you, I promise it won't be hard.
Help us help you: attach a .love.
Vimm
Party member

Post by Vimm »

Robin wrote:Okay, so could you upload a recent attempt of yours to use classes? Then we can walk you through it step by step. If you help us help you, I promise it won't be hard.
Try not to cringe at the code, lol
Attachments
Asteroid.love
(790 Bytes) Downloaded 73 times
Sulunia
Party member

Post by Sulunia »

So, i took a look at your project, and i noticed right off the bat you're trying to call Asteroid.new(). Unfortunately, Lua in itself is not object oriented (correct me if i'm wrong) but that can be implemented. So, do you want to do object orienting yourself (code the constructors and stuff) or just be able to use objects in your game?

If the latter, then you could just use an object orienting lib for lua. There are a few options, every single one of them pulls off the job graciously without any complications or such.