Status of Multiplayer Mobile Networking

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
SmartGlassesMan
Prole

Status of Multiplayer Mobile Networking

Post by SmartGlassesMan »

Hi! I'm a newbie 'prole' and this is my first post. I love the engine and the community so far. Thanks to everyone for setting it up or participating!

I did a search for 'mobile networking' on the forum and didn't find many posts, and the posts didn't seem to have an answer, so this seems like a safe question to ask:

What is the status of multiplayer mobile networking with the Love2D game engine?

I realize that networking is considered to be a very difficult topic, and mobile networking is considered to be even more difficult. That may be the reason why there seems to be so little discussion of it.

By 'status,' I mean things like: Has anyone developed a multiplayer game networked over mobile devices (peer to peer or otherwise) using Love2d? I'm sure that it is theoretically possible, but is anyone aware of a vague outline of some steps which might be required?

I've been looking into the sock.lua and Enet a little. It seems as if I would have to build Enet from source and use something like the Android NDK to get it working on Android, if it is possible. I have very little idea about how to get something like that working on iOS.

If you've read this far, thank you for tolerating a newbie question from a lowly 'prole.' :)
ivan
Party member

Re: Status of Multiplayer Mobile Networking

Post by ivan »

Welcome aboard.
As far as I know, networking is typically done using third party modules: luasocket and enet.
Move or Die is a Steam game with multiplayer support, not sure if it's available on mobile devices, but it should be possible in theory.
For mobile, you'll probably need some sort of integration with Google Play or Game Center which will require programming outside of Lua. Not possible using Lua/FFI alone.
SmartGlassesMan
Prole