Famous Love2d games?

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
xNick1
Party member

Famous Love2d games?

Post by xNick1 »

Hi guys!

When looking out for a 2D framework or game engine, you're often recommended to use stuff like GameMaker, MonoGame, Unity, Love2d, Construct2, ClickTeam Fusion and so on.
However it's common for me to look in which engine/framework, 2d games I like are made in.

Recently many famous and awesome games were made in GameMaker (Hotline Miami 1/2, Undertale, HyperLight Drifter), or ClickTeam Fusion for Five Nights At Freddy's.
Personally I think any of those products could've been made in Love2d as well, right?

The only semi popular professional game made in Love2d and sold on steam (as far as I know) is "Move Or Die".

I once tried to use Unity, but I felt like I could do things more rapidly in Love2d, so I ditched Unity.

The question is: "Why people choose those other frameworks instead of Love2d?"
As a beginner I feel like I'm doing good with Love2d, I already made a lot of progress.
Plus the community seems great, the wiki is also great and you can learn by other people's code.
kikito
Inner party member

Re: Famous Love2d games?

Post by kikito »

I think Mari0 might be more known than Move or Die - http://stabyourself.net/mari0/
Personally I think any of those products could've been made in Love2d as well, right?
Yes.
Why people choose those other frameworks instead of Love2d?
For me the reasons for using LÖVE were Lua, the community, and being completely open-source.
When I write def I mean function.
Fenrir
Party member

Post by Fenrir »

kikito wrote:I think Mari0 might be more known than Move or Die - http://stabyourself.net/mari0/
Hmm according to Steamspy Move or Die is a huge success (http://steamspy.com/app/323850), and I've heard of it in many gaming websites/podcasts/magazines, I think that it's definitely the most famous Love2D game around, at least for non developers.
ivan
Party member