Game Development for Complete Beginners

General discussion about LÖVE, Lua, game development, puns, and unicorns.
Serapth
Prole

Game Development for Complete Beginners

Post by Serapth »

Cheers All, I run the site GameFromScratch.com, which among other things contains a number of game development tutorials. Over the last five years I have never done a series from the very beginning, targeting the prospective programmer that has exactly ZERO prior game programming, or for that matter, programming programming... experience.

The reason I am mentioning it here is I have chosen to use Lua and Love as the language and library respectively. The reasons why should be obvious to the majority of you; Lua is an intuitive, "simple" but useful language while Love is a powerful, comprehensive but easy to learn game engine.

The series is pretty early on, but the playlist is available here. The size of that series will be expanding massively in a short order. I also put together a quick roundup of Love/Lua editor/IDE packages available here.

To the beginners, I hope this proves a useful resource. To the experts, please let me know if I make a mistake or if you have a suggestion... by the nature of what I do, I work in dozens of languages across many more game engines, so I am certainly prone to get my wires crossed on more than one occasion!

EDIT -- Progress so far. In two categories, the "main" series, these tutorials all assume you've watched the prior tutorial, and the "optional" section, generally linked from the main tutorials for more information if desired. These don't strictly need to be understood, but contain useful information:

Main Series

Optionals

Last edited by Serapth on Thu Jan 28, 2016 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ivan
Party member

Re: Game Development for Complete Beginners

Post by ivan »

Welcome to the forums. I've seen your videos on Youtube so good job there.
Keep it up, I'm sure people will learn a lot from those tutorials. :)
s-ol